Reception

Reviews

You can find us on trip advisor here, here is what some of our happy customers have said about us…



“Good quality hotel in perfect location for visit to York Minster, etc.”

This is the perfect jumping off point for visiting old York City centre. Leave your car in the hotel’s access controlled private car park and its only a five minute walk to York Minster and onto Shambles in the city centre. The hotel has plenty of history itself, built as a private mansion, commandeered to be an army HQ -hence the Winston Churchill connection and finally becoming a splendid hotel. It has AA rosettes for culinary excellence and we thoroughly enjoyed dinners and breakfasts. The aptly named luxury room was very comfortable, quiet and had a modern en suite bathroom. We loved it and will be back.

Reviewed on Tripadvisor 17/03/14

“The perfect place to stay in York!”

Located within walking distance to the old city center this is a really nice place to stay. The room was very nice and had coffee maker, tv and free wifi. Breakfast was not included in our rate but reasonably priced and very delicious. Only serious minus here is that they charge GBP 10 for overnight parking which seems like a rip-off considering that you are a guest and that the parking area is within the hotel property.

Reviewed Tripadvisor 15/03/14. We responded:

Many thanks for your lovely review.

A quick word of explanation on our policy of charging for car parking; we are endeavouring to keep our room rates as low as possible and are trying to allow guests to book and pay for just those services which they require.

We offer a variety of rates already such as room only, B&B and half board plus a non-cancellable rate and the car parking is simply an extension of this idea so those who are travelling by train or other means can have the cheapest price available and are not, by way of an inflated room rate, being asked to contibute to maintaining or monitoring our car park.

We are aware that, historically, guests have come to expect free car parking from us hence there is still an offer of free car parking made to those following us on tripadvisor and facebook (see top of this page). We can still keep the room rates low and absorb this as the offer code is only valid for bookings made directly with us which offsets the commission charged by the online travel agents.

We hope to see you again, give us a call or look for our offers and you’ll hopefully also park for free!

“Excellent, will definitely be back”

My mum and I have just returned from a weekend break in York at the Churchill which included 2 nights B&B with dinner on the first evening. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the minster and a really excellent location being only minutes from all the attractions. There are plenty of car parking spaces available and the staff are happy to assist and allow you to park if you arrive prior to check in. The staff are all excellent, always happy to help you and with a smile the service really is 5*. The breakfast is amazing, well stocked, fresh and amazing full cooked breakfasts. We were fortunate enough to eat in the restaurant in the evening and the food was fantastic. We had 3 courses and the food was delicious and fresh and again the service was fantastic. Lovely piano background music really sets the scene. The room was lovely and airy with plenty of space, a huge tv and exceptionally clean and decorated to a very high standard. Will definitely visit this hotel again, if you are looking for 5 * service,food with an excellent location then dont hesitate when booking this hotel.

Reviewed on Tripadvisor 14/03/14

“Lovely Sunday night away”

Just returned from a Sunday night at The Churchill hotel, stayed here several times and still my favourite hotel in York. Dave who is always on the desk on arrival remembered us and we were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade. The room was fantastic. Lovely night out in York which was still buzzing for a Sunday night. As always will definitely return.

Reviewed on Tripadvisor 13/03/14

“A hidden gem, exceptional customer service at a fantastic price”

My mum and I have just returned from a weekend in York having stayed at the Churchill hotel. We have visited York many times but this is the first time we have stayed in this hotel and will definitely be back. The customer service was exceptional, from Checking in, dinner in the restaurant to room service, it could not be faulted. We were delighted when we arrived to be upgraded to the admiralty suite, the room was gorgeous and exceeded our expectations. The only thing missing for me was a gym or a pool. It is the best 3 star hotel I have stayed in and I have visited many.

Tripadvisor 09/03/14

“Best Hotel we have stayed in in York!”

This hotel is only rated as three star – I have been in worse 5 stars!!
Everything was good, with one small exception, which I will cover at the end of the review.
Staff – super friendly and helpful. It is no good trying to single one out – they were ALL good!
Bedroom – clean, tidy and with a newly refurbished bathroom (room 114). All the facilities you could want, including biscuits and drinking chocolate (I am easily pleased!!)
Bar – really nice Polish lady – very helpful, prices of alcohol not bad for a Hotel.
Breakfast – all you could need, and well cooked / presented. Waitress a STAR!!

Small grouse – parking was 10 pounds, but the car could only remain in the car park until 12:00 – this made life difficult for us, as we were going to go shopping and pick up the car later on!

Tripadvisor 09/03/14

“Lovely friendly staff, good location.”

Booked fairly last minute, a twin room at this hotel which is a five minute walk from the Minster. Oddly shaped/laid out room (this is an old building) but had everything we needed. Plenty of parking and included in the room price. Had a last drink in the bar and very reasonably priced wine. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice, not expensive and lovely staff all round. From the man who checked us in, the guy who reset the wifi and especially the lady who served us breakfast, all excellent, friendly service. Will definitely stay here again.

Tripadvisor 09/03/2014

“Short break in York”

Small hotel in quiet location but close to City centre and local amenities. Bedrooms spacious, comfortable and well appointed with modern en suite. Breakfasts and dinner were very good and staff friendly and helpful. Parking can be a bit tight when hotel is busy. The city of York is surely one of the most beautiful in England with its magnificent Minster and character shops and pubs.

Tripadvisor 09/03/2014

“Lovely and convenient”

Very attractive hotel very close to York Cathedral and city center. The restaurant is particularly lovely, especially the large, curved bay.
Because this is a historic building, it has some quirks–especially the various levels. To reach our room, even utilizing the elevator, we went both up and down some stairs. This added to the charm!
Next time we want to stay longer!

Tripadvisor 03.03.2014

“Lovely Break”

Just got back from an internet break for 2 days The Hotel was 1st Class in every way , from the substantial and varied breakfast to the delicious evening meal (the triple cooked chips were yummy!!) The Staff were helpful and friendly Especially the ln the breakfast room Nothing was a problem to her She was a local lady We will return!!

Tripadvisor 07/03/2014

“Valentines!”

Wow what a fantastic night. The 9 course tasting menu for valentines was amazing. The food was hot when it needed to be not to much and quite exquisite . The room was decorated well and all the staff were helpful and very friendly. This really is a hidden gem. Would I recommend you bet I would

Tripadvisor February 2014

Very happy!”

Stayed for 1 night in early January. As it was the quiet season we got an excellent rate. Hotel was lovely – in a very good location about 5 mins from the center of York. They have free parking which is a plus in York. Our room was pleasant, the staff were lovely and the decor of the hotel was very very nice. I wish we had a longer stay so that we could enjoy the facilities more.

Tripadvisor February 2014

“Superb hotel”

We had 2 nights at this superb hotel for a suprise valentine treat for my wife.The room i booked was the prince of wales suite which was fantstic,the staff where very friendly and the food was excellent .Great location with free onsite parking only a short walk to the York minster and all the very nice shops.We will be returning later on in the year thank you for a great 2 days.

Tripadvisor February 2014

“Thoroughly recommended”

This hotel is wonderfully situated for visiting the city of York, being less than 10min walk from centre. The service was absolutely up to expectation and beyond. We cannot fault the room standard or marvelous breakfast served by ideal staff.

Tripadvisor February 2014

“Really pleasant hotel”

Stayed here with my wife for just the one night. This was as a Red Letter Days gift from our daughter. I did read many of the previous reviews and to be honest I can’t really relate to the negative comments the the exception of the fact that only one one set of towels was provided in the room. Not a great problem though.
We had a really pleasant stay although we only ate breakfast which was included in the package.
We arrived early as we had purchased two day York Passes and wanted to see as much as possible using them. We went straight to the hotel where we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist who informed us that our room would not be ready until after 2pm but that we were more than welcome to leave the car in their car park and check in later whenever we were ready. This allowed us to have a good day sightseeing and to have a meal in York before returning to the hotel, which is only a few minutes walk from The Minster area.
Check in was no problem and another very pleasant member of staff showed us to our room in the newer part of the hotel added a few years ago. The room was very nice and well equipped with free wifi, good sized tv, kettle and drink making sachets. The room was a good size with a modern four-poster bed. The room and well equipped bath room looked as if they had been recently redecorated and were nice and clean, warm and quiet.
After a decent nights sleep, we went down to breakfast where my wife chose from the well stocked breakfast buffet, whilst I choose the full English breakfast. We were both very satisfied with the choice and quality of the food on offer and we were served by the very friendly and helpful member of staff in charge of the dining room.
We checked out slightly early in order to get the most out of the second day of our attraction pass and asked if we could leave the car where it was. Once again this was no problem, probably because the hotel was not fully booked, and so we were able to leave after an early evening meal in York.
Just a hint to drivers. The entrance is quite easy to miss. Look out for for the two stone gate posts topped by lamps with the entrance in between.
The building itself and decor were lovely. This is a building of historical significance which was been well restored, extended and decorated. The staff were very pleasant and friendly. We had a great short stay. Would have liked longer but would not hesitate to book again at The Churchill and am very happy to recommended it.

Tripadvisor 17/02/2014

“Great hotel close to central York”

We stayed at the Churchill on valentines weekend. The staff were very friendly on arrival and showed us to our room. The room was pretty small, but had everything we needed. The shower and beds were excellent. In the morning breakfast was great. The full English appeared small, but was excellent quality and was very filling so I was well satisfied. The parking was a bit of a nightmare as the car park was very crowded and we struggled to get our car out of the space, but thats York for you! The city wasn’t really designed for cars! We would go again, and perhaps try the Havana cigars in Churchills cigar bunker!

Tripadvisor 23/02/2014

“Very happy with our stay”

We decided to have an overnight break in York and had seen this hotel when driving in to York on a previous visit. It was a good decision to book here as it was an easy walk into York. The room was very comfortable, staff extremely helpful and the food at dinner and breakfast was well prepared, presented and delicious. I think we need to make a return visit soon!

Tripadvisor 24/02/2014

Book A Room
Arrival
Departure
Adults
Children
Infants